Blogging in the PR world!

Posted On October 23, 2008

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped leave a response

Did you know that weblog writers produce 700,000 to 1.3 million articles every day? That’s almost a post a second. Currently there are 60 million blogs with 75,000 new blogs each day. 14 million people keep a personal diary, “blog” out on the web, which 100 million read. Websites like Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, and Linked In have brought millions and millions of people together that would have never met without these blogs.

Since I have joined Twitter and LinkedIn I have met people in the field of Public Relations and have formed relationships, if it’s finding an internship, job, or if I just have to follow someone for class, these weblogs have brought people together. After reading this article Blogging PR: An exploratory analysis of public relations weblogs, I have found that people use weblogs for just about everything. Many authors see blogs as tools for online communication. This study done by Xifra and Huertas, analyzes blogs concerning public relations in which public relations or one of its activities is the main theme. The whole aim of the study was to analyze what the public relations blogs are about, the issues they deal with, any structural element blogs have, objectives, usability, interactivity, and the level of connectivity (2008).

This article has provided me with a lot of information that I had no idea about with blogs. Much of the research done was based on measuring five elements: author, content, interactivity, usability, and connectivity. I learned that the largest share of blogs that was analyzed was personal blogs. 76% of weblogs out there are personal, written by public relations professionals. The most content that is written in weblogs are personal opinions. People like to write about what’s going on, but in their own words. Like right now, I am writing of what I thought about this article I read.

The second content that was most written about was comments on current affairs. According to the authors, interactivity plays a crucial role on the Internet, it gives the option for users to write their opinions openly, private, or respond to other’s comments. Results found that connectively links public relations blogs to other PR blogs. Blogs have been connecting everyone since they were developed, thereby connecting people all over the world with the same common interests.

What surprised me was that blogs are created almost every second. I really had no idea how many people used blogs and the different kinds of reasons they used them for. I didn’t really want to know anything more about this article because there is SO much information about blogs out there. I don’t blog that much only for class assignments because I don’t feel the need to put my feelings or options out for everyone to see. Now Facebook is a different story. I use Facebook as a way to keep in touch with friends from 10 years to people I met yesterday.

I know a lot about blogs thanks to Prof. Nixon, but after reading this article I got a more clear understanding of what a blogs entail. I learned about the components of a blog and how other people use blogs other than personal comments.

This information has helped me a lot on just how I should structure my blog and blog posts for my company. Now that I know what the elements of a good blog are I will know what will draw the readers into looking and reading my blog. Hopefully my blog will draw in the company’s webloggers and make an impact.

I am very thankful I found this article because most of my PR classes are dealing with blogs and networking on the web. Now I have a clearer understanding on what blogs can do for you and your company, or maybe just yourself. Blogs are going to keep on growing; soon blogs are going to be a major way of communication.

References:

Xifra, J. & Huertas, A. (2008) “Blogging PR: An exploratory analysis of public relations weblogs”. Public Relations Review, (34) 269-275.

Leave a Reply

